Have you ever thought about hitting the road and never looking back?

_mg_6523

I’ve often dreamed of taking off with no plan; only me and the night. I loved to read as a kid (I still do), and my literary heroes were (and still are) Tom Sawyer and Idgie Threadgoode. I love Tom because he was mischievous, smart, and imaginative. Idgie was strong, kind, and fun-loving. Even though both characters got into trouble frequently they always had good hearts and helped others. I relate to them both, and those two books definitely helped shape me into the person I am today. Those two stories, along with my mother’s influence, also contained the spark that made me appreciate what has been.

_mg_6524

Marcus Garvey told us that a people without the knowledge of their past history, origin, and culture is like a tree without roots. This is true. I believe in progress, but I think it’s equally important to remember where we have been, what was, and what is no more.
The young poet Mattie Stepanek left us with these words: Keep all special thoughts and memories for lifetimes to come. Share these keepsakes with others to inspire hope and build from the past, which can bridge to the future. Can’t really argue with that!

_mg_6537

If you enjoyed this post please follow me on Facebook and Instagram for exclusive photos and the latest updates on Texas Unknown!

Much love,
-Tex

 

